Currently Reading

March 27, 2014

New Email

Hey everyone my new email is

books4review@yahoo.com

If you have questions, concerns, thughts please shoot me an email over on there so In can reply faster.
My personal email is getting filled with booksih things and I feel as if I have been missing out on news.


TTFN,
Ashley

March 26, 2014

Bloggiesta Starting Line

bloggiestastart

Bloggiesta is here again. My goals are simple this time around just because of school.
1) Participate in at least 2 challenges
2) Write and POST 3 book reviews ( Thursday, Saturday, Monday)
3) Prepare Top Ten Tuesday posts for the month of April (Just the ones I can do 10 on)
4) Sync my school calendar with my blog calendar

What are your goals for this Bloggiesta?

UPDATE:
I downloaded Windows Live Writer, synced it to my blog and made this post you are reading. I also made 2 templates. One for Reviews the other for Top Ten Tuesday Meme
Blogiesta WLW
Wish me luck
TTFN,
Ashley

March 24, 2014

Sad News

Well I dont know if many of you know this but I havent been posting about BEA lately. Thats because.....I will not be attending this year. Its just not in the budget. I will be saving up better to attend next year.

I am sad that I cannot attend but i will be doing ArmChair BEA again in place of BEA.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Spring Break is OVER :(

 Okay I`m not that sad abut it because I now have family visiting. Ive been writing some reviews and will be posting them shortly.


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Hope you all are having a splendid Monday.

Read Long and Prosper,

Ashley

March 14, 2014

Middle March Update

So I know I have been absent as of late. Real life has taken over and for me that is a good thing.

I started blogging because no one in my real life cared to hear about the books I was reading. Now I have some pretty great people who are totally bookish.

I will still be posting on here just not on a regular schedule. I will participate in Top Ten Tuesday (Who doesn`t like lists), Give reading updates (still have my reading goal for the year), and will post min-reviews on books I think people really need to give a shot.

I follow a blog Glamorous Book Lounge here is the link to check her out: http://glambooklounge.blogspot.com/
She does this really cool post every once in awhile Sunday Scoop. I like all the interesting links that she shares. 
One topic really interested me in her post http://glambooklounge.blogspot.com/2014/02/sunday-scoop-17.html. 
It was talking about how we have made-up words that everyone uses. My word that i took from it was Nurdling: 
The act of sticking your cold feed under someone's butt on the couch (verb), ner-duh-ling.

Her posts convinced me to start collecting interesting links i find through-out the week and share them one here. Not all of them will be book related but most will. 


Currently Reading: Venom (On page 36)

Plan on Reading: Nil by Lynne Matson (Was on facebook team, lovely author to chat with)
                                  Pulse by Patrick Carmen (Finally got a copy)
                                  
Books read so Far:
            Legacy of the Clockwork Key: DNF
            The Archived: (4.5 Star Review Coming Soon)
            The Unbound: (5 Star Review Coming Soon)
            Deception: (4 Star Review Coming Soon)

Reading Goal: 8/25 books so far
A-Z Challenge: P, A, U, D, N, L


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Life:
     School is going well. Today is the first day of Spring Break. I had midterms all last week so my month consisted of studying. I qualified to take my one speech for Forensics to a tournament locally. That should be fairly exciting. 
    Been doing lots of outdoor work in the backyard putting up 2 greenhouses and rebuilding a chicken run. Boyfriend and I have been making plans for the summer when I get home from my road trip in June. 
     Weather hasn`t been too good so haven`t gotten much riding done. I have family coming up in 2 weeks which means we will be going riding. 
     Already bought my ticket to go see Divergent when it comes out. The audiobook of book 1 was pretty good, have to get hands on audiobooks for 2&3. I already know the ending so I`m not in dire need of those. 
     



That`s all for now. I will have a Top Ten this week as well as a book haul. Trying to record a shelf tour for YouTube but that is taking some time.


TTFN,
Ashley

March 03, 2014

Book Covers

Epic Reads over at Harper Collins has released their whole list of Fall 2014 Covers. Im green with envy and cant wait to get my hands on some of these releases.

Here is the link to all the books. http://www.epicreads.com/blog/the-official-roundup-of-fall-2014-harperteen-cover-reveals/

Id like to highlight just a few....

THE PERILOUS SEA (The Burning Sky #2) by Sherry Thomas

The sequel to the fantasy, magical, romantic 2013 release, The Burning Sky!
On sale: August 26
The first book is one Sean and I received an ARC of last year. Hoping to get my hands on this one soon. 


ILLUSIONS OF FATE by Kiersten White

Historical fantasy—based heavily on turn-of-the-century England—plus romance, plus magic.
On sale: September 9th
I haven`t read anything by her but this synopsis caught my eye.

THE FALL by Bethany Griffin

It’s another Edgar Allan Poe retelling from the author of The Masque of the Red Death and Dance of the Red Death! This time, Bethany Griffin retells Poe’s The Fall of the House of Usher.
On sale: October 7th
I own Masque of the Red Death but haven`t read it yet. 

ECHOES OF US (Hybrid Chronicles #3) by Kat Zhang

In the gripping conclusion to the Hybrid Chronicles (What’s Left of Me and Once We Were), Addie and Eva come to terms with sharing a body as they fight for lasting change and hybrid freedom.
On sale: September 16
The end.....NOOOOOO

DELIVERANCE (Defiance #3) by C.J. Redwine

This is the final installment in the Defiance trilogy! Everything hangs in the balance, and nothing is certain: Rachel has been kidnapped by enemy forces and is being taken to Rowansmark while Logan, imprisoned and awaiting trial, is unable to leave Lankenshire. Separated from each other and their Baalboden comrades, each must find a way to achieve what they desperately want: to rid their world once and for all of the Commander and the tech that controls the deadly Cursed One.
On sale: August 26th
Another ending of an amazing series. 



So tell me in the comments below what books you`re excited for this year. 


TTFN, 
Ashley










February 28, 2014

Cleaning my Ereader

http://fantasyismorefun.com/2014/01/coyer-march-2014-sign-ups.html"> alt="March 2014 COYER Signups" src="http://fantasyismorefun.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/ChallengeMarch-e1389762554738.jpg" />

So I Havent been actively using my tablet that i got last May for graduation and the e-bbok deals that i did over the summer have just been sitting gathering virtual dust.

I follow Fantasy is More and saw they were hosting this event. I think the best way to clear up those shelves is to challenge myself like this.

My goal is to read 4 books off my tabletv during March. Im not sure which ones yet. Will update this post when I decide how much of a cleaner I truly want to be.



TTFN
Ashley

February 18, 2014

Top Ten Tuesday: Reasons I love being a Reader/Blogger

Top Ten Reasons I love being a Reader
This week over at The Broke and Bookish the topic is Ten reasons you love being a Reader/Blogger
     1)    I love being a reader because  I can have adventures I might not get to have.  
    2)    I love being a reader because  the friends I've made because of books 
     3)    I love being a reader because I don’t need technology to open a book
   4)    I love being a reader because  I’m constantly learning new words and phrases through the pages of a book.
   5)    Being a reader constantly challenges me
     6)    I love being a reader because I love bookshelves, especially those that aren’t too traditional-looking.
    7)    I love reading because I`m doing something I love
    8)    I love blogging because I can say what I think and mean it without people IRL judging me
    9)    I love blogging because it has exposed me to so many books I would never have known of otherwise.
    10)    I love blogging because who doesn’t love sitting at a computer dreaming up ways to make their blog stand out.


TTFN,

Ashley

February 16, 2014

Update: Feb TBR & LIfe

Hello everyone in the blogosphere. How have you been??

I am reading Ash  by Malinda Lo and boy is it good. Its a retelling of Cinderella. I only bought it because of the title. More on the book though when I post the review next week. (so far 4 stars)

I also plan on reading The Archived by Victoria Schwab this month. This is towards my A-Z Reading Challenge.

I was able to pick up a copy of Ignite Me  by Tahara Mafi the beginning of this month but I gave it to a friend to read. I also bought a paperback edition of Shatter Me (covers need to match) and Unite Me which is the novellas combined. I read Destroy Me which is roughly 109 pages. I`m not sure if i will count it as a full book, maybe once I read Fracture Me I will count it.



Life:

Okay so school is going great. I am on the Forensics team. Its a fancy name for Speech and Debate. I`m loving the class as well as the people. I have one speech topic locked down with a speech almost finished. Have to practice more Impromptu speeches though.

February 7th was the release date of Born of The Gods which is a set of Magic the Gathering. I got to play in the pre-release tournament with one of my closest friends. We ended up tying for 1st, for it being my first ever event I was pretty excited.  You might see me occasionally make references to Magic or bring it up during updates because most of my friends play and it does occupy my time.


TTFN,
Ashley

February 05, 2014

Unhinged by A.G. Howard Review


Unhinged by A.G. Howard


Cover:5/5


 I love Morpheous and how the cover of Spintered and Unhinged match. When you take the dust cover off the writing matches the font title as well as color.

Characters: 4/5

Alyssa: When you know you have two parts to yourself you need to sometimes let that other half free. Wonderland needs Alyssa and she should have known how bad things were getting with Queen Red.

Jeb: is kill my boyfriend if he threw so much effort into his work and didn't realize how odd I've been acting. Jeb is a great guy and even if Alyssa hurts him he sticks by her to protect those he loves.

Morpheous: arrogant in the highest form. Morpheous might seem like he does things out of selfishness but somewhere in his moth heart he does it out of love. He needs to learn to express his feelings not just hide behind his wings.

Plot: 5/5

I don't want to wait another year for the 3rd book. Wonderland is calling my name.  Howard writes details of wonderland that made me pick up the original and reference it.
I wouldn't be able to do 1/2 the stuff if my loved ones were in danger like Alyssa did. I also think I wouldn't let Wonderland invade my own world.
Chessie the Cheshire Cat it amazing. I love that Howard made him be a mirror ornament for cars.
The mosaics were an interesting way to show the future.
That ending. Oh my god I wanted to be angry,I wanted to cry (I might have a little) I was shocked. *runs off to find Goodreads group as support*

Here is the link to my review of Splintered (Book 1)
http://books-4-review.blogspot.com/2013/02/splintered-review.html

TTFN,
Ashley

February 04, 2014

Top Ten Books That Will Make You Cry

Top Ten Books That Will Make You Cry


           1)      Severed Heads and Broken Hearts (AKA: Beginning of Everything) By Robyn Schneider

            2)      Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling Come on people anytime I read about Dobby or Hedwig …..I just can`t.

                 3)      The Fault in Our Stars by John Green I actually am waiting for this in the mail but I watched the movie trailer. That made me tear up so I can only imagine what the book is going to do to my feels.

                  4)      Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephan Chhoski This isn`t YA and I remembered why I dont really read adult type books

              5)      Lord of the Flies by William Golding PIGGY, poor piggy, the movie and book were a touching story.

                6)      Frostbite by Richelle Meade I’m looking for the first book being a movie but I will keep my judgments separate.


Well I’ve got only 6 this week but it’s a tough subject. I don’t try to read books that make me feel sad or cry.

TTFN,

Ashley

Labels

Tuesday Wednesday Teen Thursday Review update Monday 4 Star Books Friday Beth Revis Book haul Meme Teaser Tuesday Top Ten 3 Star Adult Challenge Covers Feature Giveaway Sunday Terah Edun Top Ten Tuesday Book Divas Christmas Guest Post Holiday INterview Life March Matched Ally Condie Melissa Marr New Releases New Years Synopsis TBR 1 Star 2 Star 5 Star 5 Stars A Tear Jerker Absent Adrianna James Anna Banks Armchair BEA Audiobook Authors BEA 2014 BFFS Bedtime Birthdays Blast Book release Boyfriend Brain jack teaser YA lending Break Breathe Bumped YA McCafferty review Challenges Child College Books YA Goals reviews College Books lists Companions Condie Confessions Courtlight Cover Reveal DNF Day One Discussion Drizzt Dystopian Eliza Tilton Entwined Feed Flynn Meaney Forgotten Realms Gift card Gifts Goals Grave Mercy Hafsah Laziaf Heather Dixon Hybrid Fiction Incarceron book 2 Jackson Pearce Jessica Darling Katie Sise Kerstin Gier Kids Krystal Wade Laini Taylor Leah Rae Miller M.T. Anderson Marie Harbon Memes Mermaids Mind Games Monthly New Adult News Paradox Poseidon Q&A Questions Quick Read Rapture Read ReadOn Release Retelling Reveals Reviews Robert Paul Weston Robin LaFevers Salvatore Sapphique Sarah Crossan Saturday September September read goals fantasy YA Shades of Earth Silvia Day Stephanie Dray Sunday. 2014 Sweetly Syrena Teaser Tuesday book blog numbers The Birthright Legacy ToD Unbreathable Unhinged Wrap-up Year End contemporary haul mature romance the summer i became a nerd