Currently Reading

Ashley's Book Montage

I'll Give You the Sun
Merciless, The
My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories


Ashley's favorite books »

July 26, 2015

#WriteThoseReviews Round 2: Aug 3-10th

#WriteThoseReviews

Who: You
What: #WriteThoseReviews
When: August 3-10
Where: Your blog and tweet your links
How: All you have to do to participate is create a blog post, GR Shelf or any media with a list of the books you need to review. Follow the #WriteThoseReviews
Why: This not only is a great way to get some discussion and traffic to your blog but it also is away for us to encourage each other to get those reviews written.

The idea started with me realizing I need to write 20 reviews to equal the amount of books I`ve read this year. I tweeted out asking if anyone has a reviewathon going on and instead Xander from Forever Bookish suggested we make it a thing ourselves. I have since decided to host review writing sprint using the hashtag during the week to encourage others to write reviews as well.
Let me know what you think via Twitter, FB or in the comments below.

TTFN,
Ashley

@Bookz4Nerdz

July 25, 2015

Review: Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins

Rebel Belle
Author: Rachel Hawkins
Narrated by: Amy Rubinate
Published On: 4/8/14
Audio Length: 9hrs 22min
Page Count: 345
Synopsis: (Found on Goodreads)

Harper Price, peerless Southern belle, was born ready for a Homecoming tiara. But after a strange run-in at the dance imbues her with incredible abilities, Harper's destiny takes a turn for the seriously weird. She becomes a Paladin, one of an ancient line of guardians with agility, super strength and lethal fighting instincts.


Overall Rating: 4/5
Cover: 4/5
I audiobooked this but looking at the cover I think it fits the “Southern Belle” very well. Plus I like that book two “Miss Mayhem” matches it.

Characters: 4/5
Harper: 
Although she is a bit of a perfectionist she stands up in her beliefs (even if some are a little extreme). Most characters in the book focused more on her looks then how smart she actually is. She did annoy me at first but once it got down to doing business she was kickass.

David: 
He is definitely more stuck up than I expected him to be in the beginning but then once you learn more about him you understand why. He knows how to get under Harper`s skin and I love how well these two mesh together.

Plot: 3/5
In the beginning you sort of just want to slap Harper for being so concerned with Homecoming and being Miss Perfect. I felt like the first fight scene in the bathroom was a little extreme and the Paladin Idea didn’t flow as well as I was hoping it would. 

I did like how Cotillion was described and how that portion of the book played out. There were some rough parts of the book but I think in the end I would pick up and read Miss Mayhem just to hear what happens.

Quotes:
page 0
0.0%
"Audiobook time. Not liking that the narrator is the same as Merciless"
page 0
0.0%
"Chapter 7 of audiobook. Still weird to hear narrator but the plot is interesting and I want to slap the MC. Don't use letters just say the damn curse word."
page 0
0.0%
"Sometimes I want to punch Harper for being so perfect when she does things to Ryan and he just melts like nothing she does is wrong. Grrr"
43.0%
"I'm on chapter 14 in the audiobook. Not sure what that translates too page wise. I'm still just not feeling Harper and Ryan. Looks aren't everything and when you don't truly enjoy kissing the boy you're dating then you shouldn't force yourself to stick with it."



TTFN,

Ashley

July 24, 2015

TBRTakedown Starting Goals

TBR Takedown

When: July 25th-31st

Where: Anywhere and Everywhere (Mostly on twitter)

Goals:
Storm by Amanda Sun
Pip Bartlett`s Guide to Magical Creatures by Maggie Stievater and Jackson Pearce
The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich
Walk on Earth Stranger by Rae Carson
White Cat by Holly Black

Five books in 7 days. Fingers crossed I can read that much. I`ll miss Day 1 but can read at night due to a horse show. Each book fits one of the challenges. I`ll have a post-up soon about my August #WriteThoseReviews. I decided I was going to host one each month for a week. More details to come.

To find out more about TBR Takedown here is the video à

Are you participating in any read-a-thon or takedown this week or soon?

TTFN,

Ashley

July 18, 2015

Review: Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

Ready Player One

Author: Ernest Cline
Published On: August 11th, 2011
Page Count: 375

Synopsis: (Found on Goodreads)
In the year 2044, reality is an ugly place. The only time teenage Wade Watts really feels alive is when he's jacked into the virtual utopia known as the OASIS. Wade's devoted his life to studying the puzzles hidden within this world's digital confines, puzzles that are based on their creator's obsession with the pop culture of decades past and that promise massive power and fortune to whoever can unlock them. When Wade stumbles upon the first clue, he finds himself beset by players willing to kill to take this ultimate prize. The race is on, and if Wade's going to survive, he'll have to win—and confront the real world he's always been so desperate to escape.

Overall Rating: 6/5
Just oh my goodness if you haven’t read this yet please do. I need someone to nerd out with me. I fangirled so hard at BEA when he signed Armada.

Cover:
I read on kindle but the paperback I have since bought is pretty awesome. It’s simple but still cool.

Characters:
Wade: Can I just say how dedicated all three of these kids are. Wade just wants what is best and he is so determined to solve the puzzle. He is helpful and near the end rather have friends in reality then over the Oasis.

Art3mis: That twist though….Just wow. Strong and an original character. At first is a little mysterious but starts to open up to Wade and Aech.

Aech: Out of all the players I feel like he wants this more than anyone. He wants the world to be better but most of all he doesn`t want the prize to fall in the hands of the Sixers.

Sixers: They are a completely ruthless group of “gamers” that work together to try and solve the Famous Easter Egg. They aren`t in it for the love of knowledge and gaming they are in it to monopolize the Oasis.

Plot:
Ernest Cline is able to take 80`s pop culture references and turn it into a futuristic alternate (or real) reality. The Oasis is the perfect place for everyone to run away from the horrible tasks of everyday life. They can be whoever they want to be and best of all they never have to leave their seats.
The hunt itself was what really did it for me. There was so much excitement and puzzles that I found myself wanting to search and watch the games a movies referenced.

Extras:
21.0%

"Loving the concept so much and why did I not pick this book up when it first came out. Amazing Concept with so many references that I understand"
41.0%

"I really like Art3mis and Aech's characters. The Sixers are completely ruthless, why anyone would work for them is beyond me."



TTFN,
Ashley


July 14, 2015

Top Ten Tuesday: Recent Books

Last Ten Books That Came Into My Possession 
Top Ten Tuesday can be found at The Broke and The Bookish

A Whole New World by Liz Braswell (3 Stars)

A Thousand Nights by E.K.Johnston (5 Stars)

Storm by Amanda Sun- Ekk finally this is out, seems like I waited Forever.

The Girl at Midnight by Melissa Grey


Survive the Night by Danielle Vega- Wish I bought the Audio for this but still excited to read it.

Me, Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

Underwater by Marisa Reichardt (Missing because It`s in purse for the Flight to TX)


Valiant by Sarah McGuire

Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman (5 Stars)

Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman






What is new on your shelves this week?

TTFN,
Ashley

July 11, 2015

Review: Enchanted by Alethea Kontis

Enchanted

Author: Alethea Kontis
Narrator: Katherine Kellgren
Published On: May 8th, 2012
Audio Time: 5hrs 34min
Page Count: 308

Synopsis: (Found on Goodreads)
It isn't easy being the rather overlooked and unhappy youngest sibling to sisters named for the other six days of the week. Sunday’s only comfort is writing stories, although what she writes has a terrible tendency to come true.
When Sunday meets an enchanted frog who asks about her stories, the two become friends. Soon that friendship deepens into something magical.

Overall Rating: 3/5

Cover:
                I listened to the audio of this however the book covers are absolutely gorgeous. I like dresses. I think it’s the one girly thing about me when it comes to fancy books.

Characters:
Sunday: She is the 7th daughter of a 7th daughter meaning she has powers and is “special.” Her story starts out like the Princess and the Frog but then changes to several other fairytales while she sits in the woods weaving her tales to Rumbold the frog prince.
Rumbold: Turned into a frog and stuck by himself her befriends Sunday one morning while in the woods. After listening to several of her stories he asks for a kiss, sadly nothing happens. When he does turn back into the Prince he hides who is was from Sunday because he is embarrassed (I think). Side note I think his name is Rumbold but not 100% sure


Plot:
                This was a little confusing to follow along with only because they are fractured fairytales. Meaning that there is at least 5ish fairytales put together in this one plot. I think if it wasn`t for the narrator I would have stopped listening. The ending came very quickly and I think I would listen to the next book to find out about her other sisters.


TTFN,

Ashley

July 05, 2015

My Review Policies

Can be Found at: About -> Policies 

Statements and opinions expressed in reviews, discussions, and other posts on this blog are my own unless otherwise stated. Opinions shared by others in comments may not reflect my own. I reserve the right to moderate comments.

In accordance to the FTC guidelines, I must state that I make no monetary gains from my reviews or endorsements here on Books Buying Beauty. All books I review are either bought by myself, won, or received in exchange for an honest review.


Accepts:
  • Adult
  • New Adult
  • Teen/YA

Format:
  • Print
Kind:
  • ARC
  • FINISHED
  • Audiobooks

Honest Reviews: Books for review are at my discretion



Where I post reviews:
  • Amazon (If Possible)
  • Goodreads
What I will include in my reviews: If there is something else you want included, you must ask me about it when sending me the book.
  • Book Cover
  • Publication Info
  • Rating
  • Review
  • Any other information that is requested


This site is written and edited by Ashley Mullins. The owner of this site is compensated with free books for review. However, this compensation will never influence a review posted on this site.






Priority Reviews

If you can send print copies I will give you a priority review
This means that your book will be reviewed within three weeks after I receive the book


If you would like me to review your book please
Send an email to books4review@yahoo.com with the subject Review Request




Review: The Astrologer`s Daughter by Rebecca Lim

 The Astrologer`s Daughter

Author: Rebecca Lim
Published On: July 9th, 2014
Page Count: 321
Synopsis (Found on Goodreads):
Avicenna Crowe’s mother, Joanne, is an astrologer with uncanny predictive powers and a history of being stalked. Now she is missing.
The police are called, but they’re not asking the right questions. Like why Joanne lied about her past, and what she saw in her stars that made her so afraid.
But Avicenna has inherited her mother’s gift. Finding an unlikely ally in the brooding Simon Thorn, she begins to piece together the mystery.


I DNF`d at 55% As interesting as it is it`s just not holding my attention
Overall: DNF (If I had continued my opinion is 1-2stars based on the plot concept)
                The reading of the future aspect was pretty interesting though.


Cover: 2.5/5 

   The spyglass makes this seem less of a fortune teller book and more of a murder mystery. So for me maybe something with stars and tarot cards would resonate the story line better.


Characters: 1/5
                Avicenna is such a whiny main character that it was hard to keep reading at first. The choices she makes are not ones I would have chosen.
                Joanne all-though not in sight plays a huge part of the story. I liked hearing about everything she predicted and how she worked. I feel like she was more of a rounded character than Avicenna.


Plot: 3/5
                Now this is where the rating really comes from. The mathematics of astrology are described in detail, which may interest some readers. The mysteries tended to be quite unique and interesting. Avicenna does not consider an astrologer like her mother, but she has absorbed much of her mother's knowledge, and also has the gift. However, when her mother disappears Avicenna is forced to follow in her mother’s footsteps to uncover the truth. 


TTFN,

Ashley

Labels

Tuesday Review Wednesday Thursday Teen update Monday Saturday Top Ten Tuesday Books Friday 4 Star Challenge Meme Discussion Sunday TBR Top Ten 3 Star 5 Star Beth Revis Book haul Challenges Holiday INterview New Years Recap Teaser Tuesday reading 5 Stars Adult Armchair BEA Audiobook Authors BEA 2015 Bout of Books Christmas Covers DNF Feature Giveaway NYC Terah Edun Twitter 1 Star Adventure Book Divas Cover Reveal Goals Guest Post Katie Sise Kerstin Gier Life March Matched Ally Condie Melissa Marr Merciless New Releases News Questions Reviews Synopsis Tourist Video 101 2 Star 2015 6 Star A Tear Jerker ARC About Me Absent Adaptations Adrianna James Alice in Wonderland American gods Anna Banks Attachments Audiobooks BEA 2014 BFFS Back To School Bedtime Birthdays Blast Blind Stitches Bloggers Book release Boyfriend Brain jack teaser YA lending Break Breathe Bumped YA McCafferty review Business Cards COYER Calleriro Catch-up Characters Chat Child Cline College Books YA Goals reviews College Books lists Companions Condie Confessions Courtlight Danielle Vega Day One Delany Doppelganger Drizzt Dystopian Ebooks Eliza Tilton Enchanted Entwined Events Every Last Word Falkoff Fangirl Feed Flynn Meaney Forgotten Realms Gift card Gifts Going Vintage Grave Mercy Hafsah Laziaf Hawkins Heather Dixon Help Holidays Hybrid Fiction Incarceron book 2 Intoductions Jackson Pearce James Dashner James Frey Jessica Darling Kat Zhang Kids Kimberly Kontis Krystal Wade LEAP Laini Taylor Leah Rae Miller Lizzie Jones M.T. Anderson Marie Harbon May Maze Runner Memes Mermaids Mind Games Mini Monthly Movies New Adult Paperback Paradox Party Poseidon Q&A Quick Read Rabbit Rainbow Rowell Rapture Read Read-a-thons ReadOn Ready Player One Rebel belle Release Request Retelling Reveals Robert Paul Weston Robin LaFevers SHINE Salvatore Sapphique Sarah Crossan Schedule September September read goals fantasy YA Shades of Earth Shawn Stern Shelf Silvia Day Starbucks Stephanie Dray Stone Sunday. 2014 Sweetly Syrena T.V. Teaser Tuesday book blog numbers The Birthright Legacy Tips ToD Touching the Surface Trading Travel Trilogy Trip Unbreathable Unhinged Warga Wishlist. 2015 Wrap-up Writing Year End Zodiac contemporary haul list mature romance the summer i became a nerd