Currently Reading

Ashley's Book Montage

I'll Give You the Sun
Merciless, The
My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories


Ashley's favorite books »

August 29, 2015

Review: Everything,Everything by Nicola Yoon

Everything,Everything
Author: Nicola Yoon
Published On: 9/1/15
Page Count: 310
Synopsis: (Found on Goodreads)
My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.
But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Overall Rating: 5/5
I adored this book. I originally rated it a 5/5 for me but after stewing it over I`m thinking I should decrease to a 4/5 because yes that plot twist OMG and the non-awkwardness of Olly and Maddy`s first date. I guess I wanted it to be weird and uncomfortable. I would highly suggest picking this one up though. The format is great and you don’t want to put it down.
BEA `15 First group in line for Nicola`s signing

Cover: 5/5
I love this cover. It’s Everything it needs to be. The colors are great and I love how the white just contrasts the chaotic bottom. It’s like the two sides to Maddy`s life.

Characters: 5/5
Maddy: She wants to not only live but live a life worth remembering. Being locked in a house and not having an exciting life has to be rough. She is so smart, almost too smart for her own good.

Olly: He is different, but in a good way. Next door he deals with an abusive, alcoholic father, and a mother who won’t leave. At first, he tries to visit Maddy at home, but when that fails epically, he starts writing notes on his bedroom window (Which is so swoon worthy)

Plot: 4.5/5
So this is where it gets hard on my rating. So much happens that I can`t really talk about cause of things. I would like to talk about the format instead though. Anna over at Starcrossedbookblog does an amazing review of this. The format is full of Madeline’s notes, IM`s and just general thoughts. I think the reason why I was able to read this so quickly was due to the format. It was fast paced and flowed so nicely.


Hope you enjoyed my review. Please let me know in the comments below if you`ve read this lovely book.
TTFN,

Ashley

August 27, 2015

Post: Booktuber Problems Tag

I wasn`t tagged in anyone’s video but I really loved the questions so decided to write up a post instead of making a video. Enjoy


QUESTIONS:
1. When you have a huge stack of books or boxes, how many tries does it take you to get that thumbnail?
When I do my videos it takes several tries to take a thumbnail picture but most of the time I give            up and go with a default embarrassing one.

2. How often do you forget to charge your camera before filming?
I don`t have a camera….yet. I just use my fancy webcam and try to make my bookshelf my background.
3. Do you have more books coming in than you have space for?
Lately not as many books coming in which is both nice since I`m running out of shelf space but sad because there are so many awesome books and I really want them.

4. How aggressively do you cull your collection?
Not as aggressively since I donated and sold 60+ books right before BEA because I knew I`d be bringing a bunch home. I do need to go through my shelves again before the end of the year and donate some more.

5. How long does it take to upload a video?
Just the uploading and processing can take anywhere between 45min to 1.5hrs it really just depends on how horrible my internet is being. I`m also tweaking this to say how long it takes to upload a blog post J It takes me roughly 15min to write my reviews in word then transfer and format to blogger. So I do acknowledge that videos take wayyyy longer.

6. Is your review pile overwhelming?
I`m pretty sure my TBR will collapse on me one of these days. The review pile isn’t as big as it was. I`ve read about ½ the BEA books I wanted to read plus what I have received since coming home. I`d say my review pile is like 12 books at the moment. My actual TBR with review books and “fun” books totals about 50+

7. Any gripes with your lighting or filming set up?
I`m not as fancy as some people who vlog so I have no room to complain about my lighting and set-up. I would like to complain that I hate when there is a horrible glare and you can`t make out the cover of a book without wiggling it around for a little bit.


Whelp that`s it for this post. Although I wasn’t tagged I am going to tag whoever wants to do this either as a video or a typed post. Just remember to link back to Tiffany`s original video. 

TTFN,
Ashley

August 26, 2015

Review: Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman

Vengeance Road

Author: Erin Bowman
Published On: 9/1/15
Page Count: 318

Synopsis: (Found on Goodreads)
When Kate Thompson’s father is killed by the notorious Rose Riders for a mysterious journal that reveals the secret location of a gold mine, the eighteen-year-old disguises herself as a boy and takes to the gritty plains looking for answers and justice. What she finds are devious strangers, dust storms, and a pair of brothers who refuse to quit riding in her shadow. But as Kate gets closer to the secrets about her family, she gets closer to the truth about herself and must decide if there's room for love in a heart so full of hate.

Overall Rating: 5/5
Overall I would highly recommend picking this up even if you think you don't like westerns. You learn acceptance and loss throughout the book and get a strong independent female as your main character.

Cover: 5/5
I absolutely love how the cover fits into the western description. All the way to the guns that belonged to Kate`s dad. I`m excited that the arc is the final cover because it is honestly what drew me in to read the synopsis.

Characters: 5/5
Kate: Sums up the definition of a read western female. All the wants to do is make her father proud. She is a steady shot and even though she has those “girly” moments they fit her character so well.

Jesse: The ideal big brother. He takes control and thinks before acting. Although this is great at times the rest of it drove Kate and myself as the reader crazy.

Will: He`s an independent little brother and in my head I nicknamed him the “trickster.”

Waylon Rose: His whole persona encompasses everything the Wild West outlaw was about. Love how Erin incorporated Waylon to have a signature on his victims.

Plot: 5/5
After reading I did learn this was loosely based on the mining story of “The Dutchman.” Which is kind of really cool if you go read about it. Kate starts out to seek revenge for her father but ends up learning so much about herself that the book leaves you wanting more for her.

TTFN,
Ashley


August 22, 2015

Video mini-reviews

Hey guys and gals. I`m behind in reviews. (Never ending circle) So i decided to make a video of a quick reason why I liked each book. So enjoy.


The Books:

1) Walk on Earth Stranger by Rae Carson 5/5
            Gold rush era, set near my hometown. I love how Rae took a historic event and added in a                   little magic.

2) Dumplin` by Julie Murphy 5/5
            Julie is a fantastic author and Dumplin` just shows how amazing she is. Be who you want to               be and take pride in yourself.

3) Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman 5/5
           Westerns are the new thing and I love it. Another book set in Gold Rush Era. Fast paced and                well laid out.

4) A Whole New World by Liz Braswell 3/5
           Not exactly my cup of tea but still had a few good aspects. The organization that Jasmine starts            is great. other than that not as twisted as I hoped.

5) Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon 5/5
           There will be a full review of this. I loved it so much and even got a painting made of one of                the quotes. A new look on SCID aka Bubble-Boy.

6) Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin 5/5
           I love WW2 and anything with alternate reality so this was right up my alley. I already Pre-               ordered a hardcover for my shelf. Hitler, WW2 and Motorcross. I can`t wait for book 2.

7) The Dead House by Dawn Kurtagich 5/5
          This is probably the scariest book I`ve read lately next to The Merciless. My interview with               Dawn and full review will be up the week of Halloween. Spooky reads here I come.

8) Hello, Goodbye and Everything in Between by Jennifer E. Smith 3/5
            This was a quick fluffy read for me. I really needed something that would take me on a roller               coaster of fast paced emotions. Although predictable and sometimes drawn out I did really                   enjoy it.

Etsy Link:
 Joyful Art Expressions


Well that's it. Let me know in the comments below what book you would like to see a full review on.

TTFN,
Ashley

August 19, 2015

Review: I`ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios

I`ll Meet You There

Author: Heather Demetrios
Published On: February 3rd, 2015
Page Count: 388

Synopsis: (Found on Goodreads)
If seventeen-year-old Skylar Evans were a typical Creek View girl, her future would involve a double-wide trailer, a baby on her hip, and the graveyard shift at Taco Bell. But after graduation, the only thing standing between straightedge Skylar and art school are three minimum-wage months of summer.
Nineteen-year-old Josh Mitchell had a different ticket out of Creek View: the Marines. But after his leg is blown off in Afghanistan, he returns home, a shell of the cocksure boy he used to be. What brings Skylar and Josh together is working at the Paradise—a quirky motel off California’s dusty Highway 99.
Cover: 5/5
                This just screams “PICK ME UP AND READ”. I`ve seen a few books coming out this year that have similar motel type covers but this by far is my favorite. It fits Paradise completely.

Overall Rating: 5/5
I jumped into reading I'll Meet You There a book that involves an amputee from war. Reading the struggles and how he adapted in his own ways was really great. Would highly suggest reading it.
The handwritten letter from author Heather Demetrios added to the epicness of Josh and Skylar's story.

Characters: 5/5
Skylar: She is so artsy and sweet. I felt for her wanting to get out of such a small town. She felt trapped and did whatever it took to get a job done. Skylar at times got on my nerves but in the end She really meant well and her and Josh are great together.

Josh: I wanted to punch him for being such an ass but then I realized why he was being an ass. I feel like his character I was a lot more bias with because of having a military background. I understood his desire to get back out there and the blaming himself for everything. Overall I did like Josh and the bonus letter made him that much sweeter.

Plot:
Mostly set in or around The Paradise Motel Skylar and Josh grew up side by side. Josh a player and Skylar ready to escape to better things.  I hated the synopsis of this boo because it gave away Josh`s injury. Skylar tries to help Josh with his prostetic but he is constantly shoving her away. This is understandable. Josh`s old friends don`t realize why Josh has changed and its only Skylar who really seems to step up and help him through the nightmares.

TTFN,

Ashley

August 03, 2015

Review: Never Always Sometimes


Never Always Sometimes
Author: Adi Alsaid
Publisher: Harlequin
Page count: 308
Release date: August 2015
Synopsis: (Found on goodreads)

Best friends Dave and Julia were determined to never be cliché high school kids—the ones who sit at the same lunch table every day, dissecting the drama from homeroom and plotting their campaigns for prom king and queen. They even wrote their own Never List of everything they vowed they'd never, ever do in high school. 
Overall rating: 4.5/5
Highly recommend. Interesting and relatable characters. Strong friendships and great family element.

Cover: (ARC not final) 4/5
I love the crumpled up paper because it fits with the Nevers but I feel the light blue background and dark blue title don't pop like it should. Other than that I love the chalkboard type font.

Characters: 5/5

Dave: Dave has a big heart and is written how a teenager should be written. He is in a shell and madly in love with his best friend. I feel like I've been in his shoes and I've felt the heartbreak of not being able to tell your friend. Although Dave does make poor decisions I don't hold them against him because I really really relate.

Julie: The biggest of all cliches is to not admit you are one. Julie is interesting and quirky. At times I wanted to smack her for the outrageous suggestions she has but then others I want to help her complete the tasks.

Gretchen: The pretty blonde that doesn't pay attention to the fact that everyone loves her. She definitely is a cliche but not a cardboard cutout like Julie calls her. I think she knows her shit and doesn't like anyone to get hurt.

Brett: Can I just say how very older brother Brett was. He dealt with a lot of the same things Dave did but he was older. I can totally see there being a second book and reading about Brett and "girl" being together.




Plot: 5/5
Not only the friendship but the family element was well written. I wasn't thrown off by Julie's dads or the mom  that have her up for adoption to travel. I hunk it added to Julie's character of being slightly rebellious and a little odd.
The Never list is a cliche in its self but I love it none the less. The things "every" high schooler should experience is different for everyone but this list sums up some of those ideas.

TTFN,
Ashley

I also got to meet him at BEA this year which was super amazing

August 02, 2015

ArcAugust Participation and Goals

For the month of August Octavia over at Read,Sleep,Repeat is hosting #ArcAugust.  A month long event in which you read all the Arcs. (Advanced reader Copies)

Here are my goals for this month in just Arcs. I do plan on reading other things....I hope.

1) Dumplin` by Julie Murphy
2) Legacy of Kings by Eleanor Herman
3) The Dead House by Dawn
4) Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
5) Armada by Ernest Cline

So thats it just 5 books this month. I`ve already started The Dead House and I am loving it.

Also friendly reminder I am hosting a Review-a-thon from August 3rd-10th. Use the #WriteThoseReviews to get updates and do writing sprints. Here is the link for more information.

I will post ArcAugust updates on the blog August 15th and August 31st. other than that evrything will be updated on twitter. :)

What books are you reading this month? Are you doing ArcAugust?

TTFN,
Ashley

July 26, 2015

#WriteThoseReviews Round 2: Aug 3-10th

#WriteThoseReviews

Who: You
What: #WriteThoseReviews
When: August 3-10
Where: Your blog and tweet your links
How: All you have to do to participate is create a blog post, GR Shelf or any media with a list of the books you need to review. Follow the #WriteThoseReviews
Why: This not only is a great way to get some discussion and traffic to your blog but it also is away for us to encourage each other to get those reviews written.

The idea started with me realizing I need to write 20 reviews to equal the amount of books I`ve read this year. I tweeted out asking if anyone has a reviewathon going on and instead Xander from Forever Bookish suggested we make it a thing ourselves. I have since decided to host review writing sprint using the hashtag during the week to encourage others to write reviews as well.
Let me know what you think via Twitter, FB or in the comments below.

TTFN,
Ashley

@Bookz4Nerdz

Labels

Tuesday Review Wednesday Thursday Teen update Monday Saturday Top Ten Tuesday Books Friday 4 Star 5 Star Challenge Meme Sunday Discussion TBR Top Ten 3 Star 5 Stars BEA 2015 Beth Revis Book haul Challenges Holiday INterview New Years Recap Teaser Tuesday reading Adult Armchair BEA Audiobook Authors Bout of Books Christmas Covers DNF Feature Giveaway NYC Terah Edun Twitter Video 1 Star ARC Adventure Book Divas Cover Reveal Goals Guest Post Katie Sise Kerstin Gier Life March Matched Ally Condie Melissa Marr Merciless New Releases News Questions Reviews Synopsis Tourist 101 2 Star 2015 6 Star A Tear Jerker About Me Absent Adaptations Adrianna James Alice in Wonderland Alsaid American gods Anna Banks Attachments Audiobooks August BEA 2014 BFFS Back To School Bedtime Birthdays Blast Blind Stitches Bloggers Book release Boyfriend Brain jack teaser YA lending Break Breathe Bumped YA McCafferty review Business Cards COYER Calleriro Catch-up Characters Chat Child Cline College Books YA Goals reviews College Books lists Companions Condie Confessions Courtlight Danielle Vega Day One Delany Doppelganger Drizzt Dystopian Ebooks Eliza Tilton Enchanted Entwined Events Every Last Word Falkoff Fangirl Feed Flynn Meaney Forgotten Realms Gift card Gifts Going Vintage Grave Mercy Hafsah Laziaf Hawkins Heather Dixon Help Holidays Hybrid Fiction Incarceron book 2 Intoductions Jackson Pearce James Dashner James Frey Jessica Darling Kat Zhang Kids Kimberly Kontis Krystal Wade LEAP Laini Taylor Leah Rae Miller Lizzie Jones M.T. Anderson Marie Harbon May Maze Runner Memes Mermaids Mind Games Mini Monthly Movies New Adult Paperback Paradox Party Poseidon Q&A Quick Read Rabbit Rainbow Rowell Rapture Read Read-a-thons ReadOn Ready Player One Rebel belle Release Request Retelling Reveals Robert Paul Weston Robin LaFevers SHINE Salvatore Sapphique Sarah Crossan Schedule September September read goals fantasy YA Shades of Earth Shawn Stern Shelf Silvia Day Starbucks Stephanie Dray Stone Sunday. 2014 Sweetly Syrena T.V. Teaser Tuesday book blog numbers The Birthright Legacy Tips ToD Touching the Surface Trading Travel Trilogy Trip Unbreathable Unhinged Warga Wishlist. 2015 Wrap-up Writing Year End Zodiac contemporary haul list mature romance tag the summer i became a nerd