Currently Reading

Ashley's Book Montage

I'll Give You the Sun
Merciless, The
My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories


Ashley's favorite books »

January 20, 2015

Weekly TBR

Hey there everyone.
Yesterday was my birthday so I didn`t have time to write a post on what I would be reading this week. So here we a go only a day late :)



LISTENING:

Scorched
Sixteen-year-old Trinity Foxx is used to her grandfather's crazy stories, so she doesn't believe that the latest treasure he brought home is a real dragon's egg. Not until their home is invaded by soldiers trying to steal it and a strange boy telling her the world as she knows it will be wiped out in a fiery dragon war


The Legend of Sleepy Hollow
In the secluded Dutch territory of Sleepy Hollow, nebbish schoolmaster Ichabod Crane competes with the town hero for the hand of Katrina Van Tassel, the 18-year-old daughter and sole child of a wealthy farmer. As Crane leaves a party at the Van Tassel's farm one autumn evening, he is pursued by the Headless Horseman


KINDLE:

The Future Collection
This collection of sci fi stories from NY Times Bestselling author Beth Revis features worlds and technology from the future. Featuring three brand new, original tales and three reprints, each story explores a different set of characters in a different world and facing different problems in the future world. 


HARDCOPY:

Ensnared
After surviving a disastrous battle at prom, Alyssa has embraced her madness and gained perspective. She's determined to rescue her two worlds and the people and netherlings she loves. Even if it means challenging Queen Red to a final battle of wills and wiles .


In other news I have been updating Goodreads on what I am currently reading as well as making sure to share posts on the FB page.

This Saturday Jan 24th is National Readathon Day. Will you be participating? Boyfriend and I are doing something in the afternoon but that morning and evening I hope to be cranking out the books. Here is a link to Goodreads Pledge to Read page so go sign up and read with me :) 

 53% of 9-year-olds read for pleasure daily, and by the time they turn 17, that number drops to 19%. Without your help, book worms may soon become an endangered species
That's why Penguin Random House and the National Book Foundation are launching National Readathon Day. We're asking book lovers across America to pledge to read for four hours starting at noon (in respective time zones) on January 24, 2015.


Birthday was fantastic. Went bowling with some friends Saturday night then on my actual birthday the boyfriend and I went book shopping (He bought a book too) and to the movies. American Sniper is a must to see.

TTFN,
Ashley

January 17, 2015

Update and Spotlight

Haha look already off to an awful start of my schedule goal, but I am posting at least :)


This past week I have finished my audiobook Merciless (Review), I have also put down I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson ( not exactly a DNF but just a "for right now" type thing). Since putting down I`ll Give You the Sun I have started reading Attachments by Rainbow Rowell and am roughly 46% done with it. I`m also working on listening to Frostfire by Amanda Hocking.

Besides updating you on what I`ve been reading this week I also want to show off two of the blogs that I really like. There are links to their website as well as to their FB/Twitter. Go check them out.

Icey Books

IceyBooks was founded in September of 2010 as a way to share our love for books. We review Young Adult, Middle Grade, and the occasional New Adult/Adult, host giveaways, chat with authors, and feature books, plain and simple. We post every day of the week, so there’s new content every 24 hours—or less!
Bloggers: 
Hafsah (21) & Asma (14)

Website
WHY
I love talking to Hafsah not only about books but about gaming as well. She has also published her own book called Unbreathable. (My Review) I can always count on her to speak her mind about a book. 


Perpetual Page Turner 


WHY
Jamie is fantastic, her updates at the end of the month with her playlists have given me so many more bands to listen to while reading. Both her and Hafsah are great at telling it like it is. I can count on them for book recommendations. 









What bloggers do follow and read their reviews?

One of the things I am most looking forward to this year is BEA in May. I not only want to meet authors and see NYC, I also want to meet the bloggers that I have read so much about online and talked to. I think that in itself would be amazing.

TTFN,
Ashley
@Bookz4Nerdz

January 14, 2015

Review: Merciless by Danielle Vega


Merciless by Danielle Vega


Page Count: 279 pages
Audio Time: 6hrs 17min
Published On: June 12th, 2014







Synopsis: (found on Goodreads)

Brooklyn Stevens sits in a pool of her own blood, tied up and gagged. No one outside of these dank basement walls knows she’s here. No one can hear her scream.Sofia Flores knows she shouldn’t have gotten involved. When she befriended Riley, Grace, and Alexis on her first day at school, she admired them, with their perfect hair and their good-girl ways. They said they wanted to save Brooklyn. They wanted to help her. Sofia didn’t realize they believed Brooklyn was possessed.


There are so many spoilers and adultish content  so please if you are sensitive to gore, violence, just basically anything that is "fubared" don't read or listen. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED :)

Here are my Goodreads Updates while in the process of listening:


01/09
48.0%"This is getting creepy. The narrator is fantastic at setting the mood. Probably doesn't help that I listened to this at 1130pm on my hour drive home. On chapter 13 now. :)"01/10
87.0%"Nearing the end of this crazy book. Probably another 45min left. Might have to pull cd out of car and just finish it inside house."01/12
91.0%"Almost over. I should just go sit in the car so I can finish the last few chapters. I feel like the ending of the exorcism is a cop-out so hopefully it can end the whole book on a high."






I listened to this as an audiobook. Since I now have a 1hour commute both ways to see boyfriend at least once a week I decided I should get back into audiobooks.

This is not a book to listen to while alone in a car in a dark stretch of road. This is not a book to listen to if your parents or loved one is not a phone call away or a room away. This is freaking creepy. I'm not sure if it's just because I listened to it or if the book really is as Exorcist scary movie.

The Narrator did a fantastic job in my opinion. She had pauses at the right time. She amped her voice up when needed and he accents and charter voices were distinguishable. She alone gets a 5/5. Was checking my rear-view mirror a lot.

The plot it's self is sort of Mean Girl style. Which looks like most of the reviews on Goodreads says as well. Riley and her crew are the popular pretty girls and they prey upon the new girl pretending to welcome her in when in reality they are using her. Sounds super familiar right? Well then there's Brooklyn the outcast who Sophie aka New Girl wants to be friends with as well. Oh the choices.

Most of the book takes place in a house that's empty. Inside the windows are bailed shut and Riley holds the key to freedom. Brooklyn needs her soul saved and all the girls must confess their sins. Time to find out if God really does forgive all.

The cover for the actual book is very pretty. I love the bright pink. The upside pentagram makes a very dark contrast to the pink. Would love a hardback on my shelf :)

The charter development was fantastic although I still have questions. I do believe there is going to be a second book so hopefully that helps.

Would recommend for sure. I loved the scariness of it. As long as you are up for some creepy shit Id say pick it up. My suggestion is to listen to the audiobook though. It's a movie in your head :)

TTFN,
Ashley

January 13, 2015

January 13: Top Ten 2014 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn't Get To

Today`s Top Ten Tuesday is all about those pesky 2014 releases that I bought but haven't read yet. Hey who knows maybe I`ll start one tonight :)





1) Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor
2) Vitro by Jessica Khoury
3) Defy (Defy #1) by Sara B. Larson
4) The Winner`s Curse by Marie Rutkoski
5) Love Letters to The Dead by Ava Dellaira
6) Brazen by Katherine Longshore
7) I`ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson (Reading Now)
8) Elusion by Claudia Gabel & Cheryl Klam
9) The Young Elites by Marie Lu
10)Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge ( I did start audiobook, just never got into the narrator) 

What books are on your TBR that released in 2014 that you never got to? Leave me a link to your TTT so I can go check it out :)

TTFN,
Ashley

January 08, 2015

Beware the Little White Rabbit: Cover Reveal

2015 marks the 150th anniversary of Lewis Carroll's timeless classic.
Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland was first published in 1865, followed by Through the Looking-Glass and What Alice Found There in 1871, and many events around the globe are planned to celebrate this year.
 
          Leap Books, LLC
Publication date: April 14, 2015
Contributing authors:
Laura Lascarso - Charlotte Bennardo - C. Lee McKenzie - Christine Norris - David Turnbull - Jacqueline Horsfall - Medeia Sharif - Tom Luke - Jessica Bayliss - Crystal Schubert - Holly Odell - Jennifer Moore -
Liam Hogan
I`m looking forward to picking this up :)

And now . . . here she is!








January 07, 2015

2015 Schedule and Goals

For 2015, I have a number of goals I want to achieve, and I think putting them out there into the world forces a measure of accountability 

First the Schedule:
Sunday: Weekly Plans
Monday: OFF
Tuesday: Meme Day
Wednesday: Book Review
Thursday: OFF
Friday: Weekly Wrap-Up
Saturday: Comment Day

-Bring the blog back up to speed. This is a must-do-ASAP, because this blog means a lot to me.
 I have over 20 books on my Goodreads Need Review Shelf so I will be pulling books off of there to use as reviews for the first few months.

 I’ll try my best to be online more. Last year, I was rarely on Twitter and rarely commenting, and that really hurts. I feel like I’m not part of the community anymore, and it’s all my fault! 
So that’s why I am making Saturday a Comment day, whether I go to one blog or ten I want to put myself out there more. Its not to get people to come comment on my site it’s just to be able to communicate more.



Let me know what you think of my plan in the comments, and if you've set yourself goals or resolutions for the year.

TTFN,

Ashley

January 05, 2015

January TBR Stack

So I`ve decided to start off each month by posting at least 2 books I want to read.

After the video there are the links on where to read the full synopsis as well as a link to Amazon to purchase.

Enjoy and tell me what you plan to read this month in the comments below :)


video
I`ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
Buy ---->Amazon
Synopsis:
Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . .



My True Love Gave to Me Edited by Stephanie Perkins
Buy ----->Amazon
Synopsis:
If you love holiday stories, holiday movies, made-for-TV-holiday specials, holiday episodes of your favorite sitcoms and, especially, if you love holiday anthologies, you’re going to fall in love 


Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
Buy ---->Amazon
Synopsis:

for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.
Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.
Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.
Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. 



Attachments by Rainbow Rowell
Buy ---->Amazon
Synopsis:

Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It's company policy.) But they can't quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.
Meanwhile, Lincoln O'Neill can't believe this is his job now- reading other people's e-mail. When he applied to be "internet security officer," he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke.



TTFN,
Ashley

January 01, 2015

New Year at 3yrs Old + 51 List for 2015

Although I didn't start blogging seriously until 2013, I created Books Buying Beauty back in 2012. A lot has changed since then with new designs and reviewing formats. 

Thank you to everyone that has followed me both on the blog and via facebook and other media. I have loved being able to interact with so many authors and other book bloggers.

 Cannot wait to see what Year 3 brings to the blog :)

As Promised in my last review
The 52 list by Lizzie Jones -----> Link
I give you my list :) Enjoy

  1. Be a tourist in your own city
  2. Watch a sunrise and sunset in the same day
  3. Visit 5 different museums
  4. Ice skate
  5. Learn to say hello in 26 languages
  6. Carve a pumpkin
  7. Attach notes to balloons and release them
  8. Get a tan
  9. Make s'mores over a campfire
  10. Go camping
  11. Read a classic novel
  12. Take a day trip someplace new
  13. Leave an inspirational message on a sticky note in a bathroom or public place
  14. Sleep under the stars
  15. Listen to classical, new age, jazz and world music for one hour each or longer
  16. Go to a festival
  17. Make something out of duct tape
  18. Take a hike
  19. Picnic in the park
  20. Eat food from a street vendor
  21. Do something that completely terrifies you
  22. Make and decorate gingerbread men
  23. Write a note and leave it in a library book
  24. Get a mani/pedi
  25. Stay in a bed and breakfast
  26. Play relaxing sounds or music as you sleep
  27. Nap in a hammock
  28. Get a book signed by the author
  29. Visit a different state, country or province
  30. Order something different off a menu 2x
  31. Visit a farmer's market
  32. Spend the day watching cartoons
  33. Enter a writing contest
  34. Have professional pictures taken
  35. Ride in a horse drawn carriage
  36. Try 10 new fruits/berries/veggies
  37. Learn to sew something
  38. Host a game night
  39. Make rock candy/crystals
  40. Draw Chalk pictures
  41. Silly sting fight
  42. Carnival
  43. Palms read/ or tarot
  44. Watch a new TV series
  45. Run a mile in less than 10min
  46. Cook an entire meal by myself
  47. Build a big fort and sleep in it
  48. Dance outside in the rain
  49. Pull an all-nighter
  50. Go to China Town in San Fran
  51. Have a day with no internet, computer or phone.
It’s a little long and daunting but why don’t you try to come up with some realistic goals to accomplish this year. I already have a few of these planned out J
TTFN,

Ashley

Labels

Tuesday Wednesday Review Teen Thursday update Monday Books Friday 4 Star Challenge Meme Saturday Top Ten Top Ten Tuesday Beth Revis Book haul Challenges Discussion INterview New Years Sunday Teaser Tuesday 3 Star Adult Armchair BEA Bout of Books Christmas Covers Feature Giveaway Holiday TBR Terah Edun reading 5 Stars Audiobook Authors Book Divas Cover Reveal DNF Goals Guest Post Life March Matched Ally Condie Melissa Marr New Releases News Questions Synopsis 1 Star 101 2 Star 5 Star A Tear Jerker Absent Adrianna James Alice in Wonderland American gods Anna Banks BEA 2014 BFFS Back To School Bedtime Birthdays Blast Blind Stitches Bloggers Book release Boyfriend Brain jack teaser YA lending Break Breathe Bumped YA McCafferty review Calleriro Child College Books YA Goals reviews College Books lists Companions Condie Confessions Courtlight Danielle Vega Day One Delany Doppelganger Drizzt Dystopian Ebooks Eliza Tilton Entwined Feed Flynn Meaney Forgotten Realms Gift card Gifts Grave Mercy Hafsah Laziaf Heather Dixon Help Holidays Hybrid Fiction Incarceron book 2 Intoductions Jackson Pearce James Dashner James Frey Jessica Darling Kat Zhang Katie Sise Kerstin Gier Kids Kimberly Krystal Wade LEAP Laini Taylor Leah Rae Miller Lizzie Jones M.T. Anderson Marie Harbon Maze Runner Memes Merciless Mermaids Mind Games Monthly New Adult Paperback Paradox Poseidon Q&A Quick Read Rabbit Rapture Read ReadOn Release Retelling Reveals Reviews Robert Paul Weston Robin LaFevers SHINE Salvatore Sapphique Sarah Crossan September September read goals fantasy YA Shades of Earth Shawn Stern Silvia Day Stephanie Dray Sunday. 2014 Sweetly Syrena Teaser Tuesday book blog numbers The Birthright Legacy Tips ToD Touching the Surface Trilogy Trip Unbreathable Unhinged Wrap-up Year End contemporary haul list mature romance the summer i became a nerd