Currently Reading

Ashley's Book Montage

I'll Give You the Sun
Merciless, The
My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories


Ashley's favorite books »

January 28, 2015

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell: Review

Attachments by Rainbow Rowell
Page Count: 323pgs
Cover:
Synopsis (Found on Goodreads):


Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It's company policy.) But they can't quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.
Meanwhile, Lincoln O'Neill can't believe this is his job now- reading other people's e-mail. When he applied to be "internet security officer," he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke.


Plot: 
Guy gets heart broken his 1st year of college and hasn't dated since. He's wacky and nerdy but has a steady job. Yes it's a job reading other people's emails but hey, they were warned not to send anything dirty or inappropriate.

Two women- one married, one dating- emailing at work -a newspaper- they discuss some interesting topics a few are really touchy so be warned.

Those touchy subjects-those embarrassing things you really don't want people to know about- yah well He reads those, but doesn't warn the women. What could possibly go wrong? Answer everything.

Here are my thoughts I posted on Goodreads while reading Attachments;


01/09page 11
3.0%"Pretty basic right now. Like the concept so far."
01/16
46.0%"So we learn a little more about Sam and school in California. I'm interested see how much longer Chris lasts."

My favorite Quotation from Attachments
“I didn’t know someone could love me like this,” she said. “Could love me and love me and love me without …needing space.” Lincoln wasn’t asleep. He rolled on top of her. “There’s no air in space,” he said.” 
― Rainbow RowellAttachments

On Goodreads I starred the book a 3/5 stars. I liked the story line but there wasn`t just anything that popped out at me to remember. There was the nerdy moments when Lincoln is talking about D&D and when Justin (his college friend) is talking about music but nothing that made me want to jump on the bandwagon.


Overall:
 it was refreshing to read a book where the main character was a guy. I'm glad that not everything was "your typical" adult life. Would recommend to anyone who feels stuck in life.


What things do you do as an adult that would be seen as childish?

TTFN,
Ashley

January 27, 2015

Ten Books I'd Love to Read With My Book Club/If I Had A Book Club

This weeks topic is Ten Books I'd Love to Read With My Book Club/If I Had A Book Club 

  1. Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
  2. Merciless by Danielle Vega
  3. Zodiac by Romina Russell
  4. Going Vintage by Lindsey Levitt

I only have 4 this week because It was hard to choose books that I thought people could read and have full discussions about.

Now the Why:

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline is my current read on my kindle. I`m really enjoying all the 80`s references and think it would make a great book club book for those that enjoy nerdy things like video games and quoting movies. 

Merciless by Danielle Vega I listened to while driving and I truly only picked this book because I want to have someone else to freak out about how twisted the book was with.

Zodiac  by Romina Russell is all about Zodiac signs and how each house is different but needs to learn to work together. I am a Capricorn and i think finding others interested in astrology with different zodiac signs would be fun to read this book with.

Going Vintage  by Lindsey Levitt is all about giving up technology and doing things the "old-fashioned" way. I think this could generate some great discussion and maybe even have a challenge about giving up electronics for a little bit.

What books would you want to read with a Book club if you had one?

TTFN,
Ashley 

January 26, 2015

Weekly TBR

LISTENING:

Scorched by Mari Mancusi

Sixteen-year-old Trinity Foxx is used to her grandfather's crazy stories, so she doesn't believe that the latest treasure he brought home is a real dragon's egg. Not until their home is invaded by soldiers trying to steal it and a strange boy telling her the world as she knows it will be wiped out in a fiery dragon war

Thoughts:
 At first the narrator for the audiobook was a little much for me to handle while driving home at night. Then it was like she clicked and the voices were perfect and the pacing was great. I`m really enjoying it so far and purchased the 2nd book on audio as well. Already 4 CDs in to the book, Which is chapter 22. 




KINDLE:
Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
In the year 2044, reality is an ugly place. The only time teenage Wade Watts really feels alive is when he's jacked into the virtual utopia known as the OASIS. Wade's devoted his life to studying the puzzles hidden within this world's digital confines—puzzles that are based on their creator's obsession with the pop culture of decades past and that promise massive power and fortune to whoever can unlock them.  

Thoughts: 
Started this Friday night and am already 21% done with it. Loving it so far. Will probably finish it by the end of the week.




HARDCOPY:
Ensnared by A.G. Howard
After surviving a disastrous battle at prom, Alyssa has embraced her madness and gained perspective. She's determined to rescue her two worlds and the people and netherlings she loves. Even if it means challenging Queen Red to a final battle of wills and wiles .

Thoughts: So I technically have only read the 1st chapter since I added this to my TBR. Part of me knows that once this is over there will be no more Morpheus, Jeb or Aly and the feels are just too much. 
Although can we just talk about this cover. IT IS GORGEOUS. I will have a surprise in the next few weeks that a fellow blogger is making :) 



In other news, I go back to school this week starting Tuesday. I think this time around I will have blog things more organized So I won`t be stressing about posting all the time. 

TTFN,
Ashley

January 20, 2015

Weekly TBR

Hey there everyone.
Yesterday was my birthday so I didn`t have time to write a post on what I would be reading this week. So here we a go only a day late :)



LISTENING:

Scorched
Sixteen-year-old Trinity Foxx is used to her grandfather's crazy stories, so she doesn't believe that the latest treasure he brought home is a real dragon's egg. Not until their home is invaded by soldiers trying to steal it and a strange boy telling her the world as she knows it will be wiped out in a fiery dragon war


The Legend of Sleepy Hollow
In the secluded Dutch territory of Sleepy Hollow, nebbish schoolmaster Ichabod Crane competes with the town hero for the hand of Katrina Van Tassel, the 18-year-old daughter and sole child of a wealthy farmer. As Crane leaves a party at the Van Tassel's farm one autumn evening, he is pursued by the Headless Horseman


KINDLE:

The Future Collection
This collection of sci fi stories from NY Times Bestselling author Beth Revis features worlds and technology from the future. Featuring three brand new, original tales and three reprints, each story explores a different set of characters in a different world and facing different problems in the future world. 


HARDCOPY:

Ensnared
After surviving a disastrous battle at prom, Alyssa has embraced her madness and gained perspective. She's determined to rescue her two worlds and the people and netherlings she loves. Even if it means challenging Queen Red to a final battle of wills and wiles .


In other news I have been updating Goodreads on what I am currently reading as well as making sure to share posts on the FB page.

This Saturday Jan 24th is National Readathon Day. Will you be participating? Boyfriend and I are doing something in the afternoon but that morning and evening I hope to be cranking out the books. Here is a link to Goodreads Pledge to Read page so go sign up and read with me :) 

 53% of 9-year-olds read for pleasure daily, and by the time they turn 17, that number drops to 19%. Without your help, book worms may soon become an endangered species
That's why Penguin Random House and the National Book Foundation are launching National Readathon Day. We're asking book lovers across America to pledge to read for four hours starting at noon (in respective time zones) on January 24, 2015.


Birthday was fantastic. Went bowling with some friends Saturday night then on my actual birthday the boyfriend and I went book shopping (He bought a book too) and to the movies. American Sniper is a must to see.

TTFN,
Ashley

January 17, 2015

Update and Spotlight

Haha look already off to an awful start of my schedule goal, but I am posting at least :)


This past week I have finished my audiobook Merciless (Review), I have also put down I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson ( not exactly a DNF but just a "for right now" type thing). Since putting down I`ll Give You the Sun I have started reading Attachments by Rainbow Rowell and am roughly 46% done with it. I`m also working on listening to Frostfire by Amanda Hocking.

Besides updating you on what I`ve been reading this week I also want to show off two of the blogs that I really like. There are links to their website as well as to their FB/Twitter. Go check them out.

Icey Books

IceyBooks was founded in September of 2010 as a way to share our love for books. We review Young Adult, Middle Grade, and the occasional New Adult/Adult, host giveaways, chat with authors, and feature books, plain and simple. We post every day of the week, so there’s new content every 24 hours—or less!
Bloggers: 
Hafsah (21) & Asma (14)

Website
WHY
I love talking to Hafsah not only about books but about gaming as well. She has also published her own book called Unbreathable. (My Review) I can always count on her to speak her mind about a book. 


Perpetual Page Turner 


WHY
Jamie is fantastic, her updates at the end of the month with her playlists have given me so many more bands to listen to while reading. Both her and Hafsah are great at telling it like it is. I can count on them for book recommendations. 









What bloggers do follow and read their reviews?

One of the things I am most looking forward to this year is BEA in May. I not only want to meet authors and see NYC, I also want to meet the bloggers that I have read so much about online and talked to. I think that in itself would be amazing.

TTFN,
Ashley
@Bookz4Nerdz

January 14, 2015

Review: Merciless by Danielle Vega


Merciless by Danielle Vega


Page Count: 279 pages
Audio Time: 6hrs 17min
Published On: June 12th, 2014







Synopsis: (found on Goodreads)

Brooklyn Stevens sits in a pool of her own blood, tied up and gagged. No one outside of these dank basement walls knows she’s here. No one can hear her scream.Sofia Flores knows she shouldn’t have gotten involved. When she befriended Riley, Grace, and Alexis on her first day at school, she admired them, with their perfect hair and their good-girl ways. They said they wanted to save Brooklyn. They wanted to help her. Sofia didn’t realize they believed Brooklyn was possessed.


There are so many spoilers and adultish content  so please if you are sensitive to gore, violence, just basically anything that is "fubared" don't read or listen. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED :)

Here are my Goodreads Updates while in the process of listening:


01/09
48.0%"This is getting creepy. The narrator is fantastic at setting the mood. Probably doesn't help that I listened to this at 1130pm on my hour drive home. On chapter 13 now. :)"01/10
87.0%"Nearing the end of this crazy book. Probably another 45min left. Might have to pull cd out of car and just finish it inside house."01/12
91.0%"Almost over. I should just go sit in the car so I can finish the last few chapters. I feel like the ending of the exorcism is a cop-out so hopefully it can end the whole book on a high."






I listened to this as an audiobook. Since I now have a 1hour commute both ways to see boyfriend at least once a week I decided I should get back into audiobooks.

This is not a book to listen to while alone in a car in a dark stretch of road. This is not a book to listen to if your parents or loved one is not a phone call away or a room away. This is freaking creepy. I'm not sure if it's just because I listened to it or if the book really is as Exorcist scary movie.

The Narrator did a fantastic job in my opinion. She had pauses at the right time. She amped her voice up when needed and he accents and charter voices were distinguishable. She alone gets a 5/5. Was checking my rear-view mirror a lot.

The plot it's self is sort of Mean Girl style. Which looks like most of the reviews on Goodreads says as well. Riley and her crew are the popular pretty girls and they prey upon the new girl pretending to welcome her in when in reality they are using her. Sounds super familiar right? Well then there's Brooklyn the outcast who Sophie aka New Girl wants to be friends with as well. Oh the choices.

Most of the book takes place in a house that's empty. Inside the windows are bailed shut and Riley holds the key to freedom. Brooklyn needs her soul saved and all the girls must confess their sins. Time to find out if God really does forgive all.

The cover for the actual book is very pretty. I love the bright pink. The upside pentagram makes a very dark contrast to the pink. Would love a hardback on my shelf :)

The charter development was fantastic although I still have questions. I do believe there is going to be a second book so hopefully that helps.

Would recommend for sure. I loved the scariness of it. As long as you are up for some creepy shit Id say pick it up. My suggestion is to listen to the audiobook though. It's a movie in your head :)

TTFN,
Ashley

January 13, 2015

January 13: Top Ten 2014 Releases I Meant To Read But Didn't Get To

Today`s Top Ten Tuesday is all about those pesky 2014 releases that I bought but haven't read yet. Hey who knows maybe I`ll start one tonight :)





1) Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor
2) Vitro by Jessica Khoury
3) Defy (Defy #1) by Sara B. Larson
4) The Winner`s Curse by Marie Rutkoski
5) Love Letters to The Dead by Ava Dellaira
6) Brazen by Katherine Longshore
7) I`ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson (Reading Now)
8) Elusion by Claudia Gabel & Cheryl Klam
9) The Young Elites by Marie Lu
10)Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge ( I did start audiobook, just never got into the narrator) 

What books are on your TBR that released in 2014 that you never got to? Leave me a link to your TTT so I can go check it out :)

TTFN,
Ashley

January 08, 2015

Beware the Little White Rabbit: Cover Reveal

2015 marks the 150th anniversary of Lewis Carroll's timeless classic.
Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland was first published in 1865, followed by Through the Looking-Glass and What Alice Found There in 1871, and many events around the globe are planned to celebrate this year.
 
          Leap Books, LLC
Publication date: April 14, 2015
Contributing authors:
Laura Lascarso - Charlotte Bennardo - C. Lee McKenzie - Christine Norris - David Turnbull - Jacqueline Horsfall - Medeia Sharif - Tom Luke - Jessica Bayliss - Crystal Schubert - Holly Odell - Jennifer Moore -
Liam Hogan
I`m looking forward to picking this up :)

And now . . . here she is!








Labels

Tuesday Wednesday Review Teen Thursday update Monday Books Friday 4 Star Challenge Top Ten Tuesday Meme Saturday Top Ten Beth Revis Book haul Challenges Discussion INterview New Years Sunday TBR Teaser Tuesday 3 Star Adult Armchair BEA Bout of Books Christmas Covers Feature Giveaway Holiday Terah Edun reading 5 Stars Audiobook Authors Book Divas Cover Reveal DNF Goals Guest Post Life March Matched Ally Condie Melissa Marr Merciless New Releases News Questions Synopsis 1 Star 101 2 Star 5 Star A Tear Jerker Absent Adrianna James Alice in Wonderland American gods Anna Banks Attachments BEA 2014 BFFS Back To School Bedtime Birthdays Blast Blind Stitches Bloggers Book release Boyfriend Brain jack teaser YA lending Break Breathe Bumped YA McCafferty review Calleriro Child College Books YA Goals reviews College Books lists Companions Condie Confessions Courtlight Danielle Vega Day One Delany Doppelganger Drizzt Dystopian Ebooks Eliza Tilton Entwined Feed Flynn Meaney Forgotten Realms Gift card Gifts Going Vintage Grave Mercy Hafsah Laziaf Heather Dixon Help Holidays Hybrid Fiction Incarceron book 2 Intoductions Jackson Pearce James Dashner James Frey Jessica Darling Kat Zhang Katie Sise Kerstin Gier Kids Kimberly Krystal Wade LEAP Laini Taylor Leah Rae Miller Lizzie Jones M.T. Anderson Marie Harbon Maze Runner Memes Mermaids Mind Games Monthly New Adult Paperback Paradox Poseidon Q&A Quick Read Rabbit Rainbow Rowell Rapture Read ReadOn Ready Player One Release Retelling Reveals Reviews Robert Paul Weston Robin LaFevers SHINE Salvatore Sapphique Sarah Crossan September September read goals fantasy YA Shades of Earth Shawn Stern Silvia Day Stephanie Dray Sunday. 2014 Sweetly Syrena Teaser Tuesday book blog numbers The Birthright Legacy Tips ToD Touching the Surface Trilogy Trip Unbreathable Unhinged Wrap-up Year End Zodiac contemporary haul list mature romance the summer i became a nerd