Currently Reading

Ashley's Book Montage

I'll Give You the Sun
Merciless, The
My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories


Ashley's favorite books »

May 22, 2015

Wishlist for 2015

All over twitter there has been the #BooksForTrade
I am putting my wishlist on here as a post and will update it every time I get a one. I am looking for ARCs or HC/PB of the books. I am only trading, no gc or paypal.

Title Author
Undertow Michael Buckley
Wrath and Dawn Renee Ahdieh
Miss Mayhem Rachel Hawkins
Extraordinary Means Robyn Schnieder
The Artisans Julie Reece
None of The Above I.W. Gregorio
Finding Paris Joy Preble
Magonia Maria Dahvana Headly
Stone in The Sky Cecil Castellucci
A Wicked Thing Rhiannon Thomas
The Storyspinner Becky Wallace
Orphan Queen Jodi Meadows
Liars Inc. Paula Stokes
The Cemetary Boys Heather Brewer
Challenger Deep Neal Shushterman
The Girl at Midnight Melissa Grey
Magonia Maria Dahvana Headly
The Boyfriend Project Rachel Hawthorn
The Edge of Forever Melissa E. Hurst
Valiant Sarah McGuire
Between the Notes Sharon Huss Roat
Storm Amanda Sun
The Girl at The Center of The World Austin Aslan
Mechanica Betsy Cornwell
From Where I Watch You Shannon Grogan
Everything, Everything Nicola Yoon
Drift & Dagger Kendall Kulper
The Dead House Dawn Kurtagich
Dreamland Robert L. Anderson
Walk on Earth Stranger Rae Carson


If you have any of these books listed above please comment/message me and let`s see if I have anything you want. :)

TTFN,
Ashley

Book Expo America 2015

My name is Ashley everywhere online I am either Bookz4Nerdz or Books Buying Beauty
I am twenty and will soon be graduating community college. I have been blogging a little over three years now. I started blogging because I wanted to have a voice in the book community. Plus I wanted to write about my bookish thoughts where other book lovers could read it instead of in real life where no one really wants to.

Description of my blog in one sentence. Books Buying Beauty is a passionate young adult book lover’s dream to spread book love everywhere.




and a twitter page: https://twitter.com/Bookz4Nerdz

I Will Be Attending BEA this Year! (pardon my flailing)

Here is me back in January haven`t changed much. Hair is a little darker
Walt (great grandfather) and I fly into NYC Tuesday night and will be flying back home the following Monday. We are only going to BEA Wednesday-Friday, then the weekend will be for tourist type things. 

I have my business cards all made up.


My Schedule is typed and at least semi decent.


Will you be attending? If so please come find me. I`d love to meet fellow bloggers. Any advice for first timers?

TTFN,
Ashley

May 05, 2015

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Will Never Read

brokeandbookish.com

This weeks topic over at The Broke and The Bookish is Top Ten Books I Will Never Read (On my shelf). I went through a period that I would just get books just to have them. After they have been on my shelf for awhile I have realized there are some that I will most likely never read. :/ Some of the books on this list I have tried to read before but I just couldn`t do it. Not because they were bad but because I just wasn`t into them. So here are the ten books on my shelf I wont read.



Quarantine
          Delirium
                   Amber House
                                Water for Elephants
                                                 I`ll Give You The Sun
                                                                             Slayers
                                                                                   Throne of Glass
                                                                                              It`s Kind of A Funny Story
                                                                                                                                Incarnate
                                                                                                                                         Paranormalcy

What books are on your shelf that you don`t see yourself reading anytime soon?

TTFN,
Ashley
@Bookz4Nerdz

April 30, 2015

Discussion Thursday: Movie/TV Adaptations

Today I thought we could discuss a few movie and television adaptions. Some of the ones on this list I have watched others are on my goal list to watch sometimes this summer.
What Movies/TV Shows are you watching or can`t wait to see?


  • Vampire Diaries by L.J. Smith
                  I use to adore reading L.J.Smith books and when VD came out I watched 3-4 episodes but I just wasn`t that into it. 
Now a couple years later my current boyfriend actually binge watched
 all the seasons and really enjoys it.

  • Pretty Little Liars by Sarah Shepard
          This is not a series I have watched and
 I am not 100% sure I even plan on watching it.
I feel like it is just another teen type drama and that really isn`t my cup of tea.

  • Spiderwick Chronicles by Holly Black & Tony DiTerlizzi
Now this is a movie I wish had more to it.
 I never really read the books as a kid. 
It was actually thanks to the movie that I went back a read them. 
I`ve always been a fan of Holly`s ability to re-imagine traditional fae type creatures. 

  • Divergent Trilogy by Veronica Roth
I will honestly admit I have only listened to book 1&2. 
I also have no desire to continue to book 3. 
The movies are pretty awesome though.
 I can say from that alone I understand why the books are popular with all that action.

  • Hunger Games by Susan Collins
I actually binged all three books when the release date for The Hunger Games was released. 
I`m super glad I had one book after another. 
The concept of the districts is great in both the movies and the books.

  • Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
Although not a YA novel/movie I really enjoyed reading this short book. 
I will have to admit I only watched the movie because 
EMMA WATSON!!!
It was acted out really well and pretty true to the book so that was enjoyable.

  • The Maze Runner Trilogy by James Dashner
Again another series I binged before the movie released.
 Finished all three books in 2 days.
Although there was some changes in the movie I still felt it got the overall theme of the book. 
Now to (im)patiently wait for The Scorch Trials.



TTFN,
Ashley

April 28, 2015

Top Ten Tuesday: Characters who grow stronger

http://www.brokeandbookish.com/
This weeks topic is Characters who ____. So I decided to go with characters who grow stronger. Not exactly stronger in the physical sense but mentally as well. So without further ado here are my Top Ten Tuesdays picks.


1) Trinity- Scorched by Mari Mancusi


2) Aysel- My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

3) Sam- Playlist for The Dead by Michelle Falkoff

4) Elisa- Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

5) Will Lawrence- His Majesty`s Dragon by Naomi Novik



6) Alyssa Gardner-  Splintered by A.G. Howard

7) Karou- Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

8) Rachel Adams- Defiance by C.J. Redwine

9) Rhoma Grace- Zodiac by Romina Russell

10) Ginny Weasley- Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

Which characters do you think grow through-out a story?

TTFN,
Ashley

April 23, 2015

Discussion Thursday: Audiobooks

So today I thought we could talk a little about audiobooks. I decided to try a video this time around. So sit back, grab a soda (or water) and enjoy.



That lovely thumbnail :/

Comment below your thoughts on audio-books and how you like to listen.

TTFN,
Ashley
@Bookz4Nerdz

April 21, 2015

Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Authors of All Time

http://www.brokeandbookish.com/p/top-ten-tuesday-other-features.html
This weeks topic is Top Ten Favorite authors of all time. This was such a hard topic because I do have quiet a few favorite authors. So without further ado here they are.



J.K. Rowling: I feel like everyone will have her on their lists. She inspired me to use my imagination and make-up worlds to play in as a kid.

Beth Revis: Although we aren`t together anymore her trilogy made my ex and I closer together by reading each night.

Naomi Novik: She fulled my love of dragons and reignited my interest in historical periods.

A.G. Howard: Alice in Wonderland is one of my favorite books so to have it retold in a more modern style was amazing.

Julie Kagawa: Continues to fuel my love of dragons and who doesn`t love her clay art.

Mari Mancusi: A new addition to my list, More dragons as well as a writing style that keeps me turning pages.

Katie Sise: When I picked up The Boyfriend App I was super excited to read about a girl nerd and boy was I impressed with the knowledge in the pages.

D.J. McHale: Loved his books in Middle School and made me research historical events.

Robin LaFevers: The world building and plots in her trilogy were amazing

Laini Taylor: Again with the plots of her books. She is for sure an insta-buy (As well as she was born near where I live)

C.J. Redwine: she writes characters that you can relate to as well as fall in love with.

Leigh Bardugo: Her writing style is awesome and I love/hate her characters.

Romina Russel: Another new addition to my list but I loved Zodiac and cannot wait to see what Wandering Star brings to the astrological table.

Comment below who your favorite authors are. :)

TTFN,
Ashley

March 31, 2015

Ten Books You Recently Added To Your To-Be-Read List

March 31: Ten Books You Recently Added To Your To-Be-Read List
http://www.brokeandbookish.com/p/top-ten-tuesday-other-features.html


I`ve added a few books the past week on my TBR list. The first 5 are books I currently own and the other 5 are ones I have either pre-ordered or really need to get a copy of.

  1. Nil by Lynne Matson
  2. Glitch by Heather Anastasiu
  3. Breathe by Sarah Crossen
  4. Possess by Gretchen McNeil
  5. Grim by Christine Johnson
  6. Storm by Amanda Sun (June 30th)
  7. Skandal by Lindsay Smith (April 7th)
  8. Conspiracy of Blood and Smoke by Anne Blankman (April 21st)
  9. The Pretty App by Katie Sise (April 14th)
  10. Walk on Earth Stranger by Rae Carson (September 22nd)

What books are you wanting to read? Pre-Order any interesting reads? Anything on my list match yours? Want to do a “Buddy Read”?

TTFN,
Ashley
@Bookz4Nerdz

Labels

Tuesday Wednesday Review Thursday Teen update Monday Top Ten Tuesday Books Friday 4 Star Challenge Discussion Meme Saturday TBR Top Ten Beth Revis Book haul Challenges INterview New Years Sunday Teaser Tuesday 3 Star Adult Armchair BEA Bout of Books Christmas Covers Feature Giveaway Holiday Terah Edun reading 5 Stars Audiobook Authors Book Divas Cover Reveal DNF Goals Guest Post Life March Matched Ally Condie Melissa Marr Merciless New Releases News Questions Synopsis Video 1 Star 101 2 Star 5 Star A Tear Jerker About Me Absent Adaptations Adrianna James Alice in Wonderland American gods Anna Banks Attachments Audiobooks BEA 2014 BEA 2015 BFFS Back To School Bedtime Birthdays Blast Blind Stitches Bloggers Book release Boyfriend Brain jack teaser YA lending Break Breathe Bumped YA McCafferty review Business Cards Calleriro Characters Child College Books YA Goals reviews College Books lists Companions Condie Confessions Courtlight Danielle Vega Day One Delany Doppelganger Drizzt Dystopian Ebooks Eliza Tilton Entwined Falkoff Feed Flynn Meaney Forgotten Realms Gift card Gifts Going Vintage Grave Mercy Hafsah Laziaf Heather Dixon Help Holidays Hybrid Fiction Incarceron book 2 Intoductions Jackson Pearce James Dashner James Frey Jessica Darling Kat Zhang Katie Sise Kerstin Gier Kids Kimberly Krystal Wade LEAP Laini Taylor Leah Rae Miller Lizzie Jones M.T. Anderson Marie Harbon Maze Runner Memes Mermaids Mind Games Mini Monthly Movies NYC New Adult Paperback Paradox Poseidon Q&A Quick Read Rabbit Rainbow Rowell Rapture Read ReadOn Ready Player One Release Retelling Reveals Reviews Robert Paul Weston Robin LaFevers SHINE Salvatore Sapphique Sarah Crossan Schedule September September read goals fantasy YA Shades of Earth Shawn Stern Shelf Silvia Day Stephanie Dray Sunday. 2014 Sweetly Syrena T.V. Teaser Tuesday book blog numbers The Birthright Legacy Tips ToD Touching the Surface Trading Trilogy Trip Unbreathable Unhinged Warga Wishlist. 2015 Wrap-up Year End Zodiac contemporary haul list mature romance the summer i became a nerd