Currently Reading

Ashley's Book Montage

I'll Give You the Sun
Merciless, The
My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories

Ashley's favorite books »

October 12, 2015

24 Hour Dewey Read-a-Thon

Sign-up here

This year I am going to attempt to join in on the 24 Hour Read-a-Thon. I will be in Washington visiting family but I`m sure I will great a few book done in that time period.

I do have a small goal set of books I`d like to read during that time.

After the Woods
This Monstrous Thing

So are you gonna join in? If so leave your cheerleading link and I will do my best to cheer you on :)


October 05, 2015

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I`ve DNF`d or Quit

Top Ten Tuesday can be found The Broke and The Bookish

I’m not going to go into detail on why I DNF’d each book because I probably can’t remember.  I’m not going to say that I’ll never go back and try them again either. I`m probably forgetting some books as well.

Nightfall by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski This I will for sure be picking after I finish some review books. I think I just had to many scary books in a row.

Dreamland by Robert L. Anderson I will most likely pick back up since I`ve finished Dreamstrider.

Newt`s Emerald by Garth Nix I will NOT be picking back up, in fact I traded one copy (I have another if someone is interested) because it fell short.

Zeroes by Scott Westerfeld both Cody and I tried to read it and neither of us could get passed 45%

A Step Towards Falling by Cammie McGovern this was an impulse grab at BEA, I ended up finding it slow and passing it along.

A Million Miles Away by Lara Avery honestly this was a random trade because I only heard about it having military aspects. After starting it and realizing what was happening I got pissed and put it down.

Thats it only 6 books I have DNF`d this year. What books have you set aside? Any you plan on picking back up?


October 04, 2015

Blog Ahead 2015 Sign-Up Post

blog ahead 2015

I have been away from the interwebs for a little while but I just found out about this awesome challenge thing. Here are the details straight from Herding Cats

Build your total number of scheduled posts by 31!

On October 1st take your number of scheduled posts and add 31.
Whatever that number is...that's your goal for the month.
You'll end the day on Oct 31st with that many scheduled posts. Woots!

 So here is my goal seeing as 31 is a little high for me with everything in real life that's going on, but who knows I might be able to get 31 squeezed in. I am starting Oct with 4 scheduled posts.

13- Top Ten Tuesday Meme
      This is where I am starting. I printed out from Oct-Jan 19th topics and hand wrote my answers now to just type and schedule them.

6- Book Reviews
     I have already read the books now I just need to get my skinny but in gear and type the damn thoughts.

4- Author Interviews
      The authors have done their part now its up to me to share their awesome answers.

1- Debut Feature
     So first off I need a better name for this damn idea. My first full feature is actually scheduled for the week of January 3rd. 

What are your goals? Are you joining?


October 03, 2015

Future Perfect Blog Tour

Future Perfect
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: October 6th 2015
Genre: Young Adult, Chick Lit, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, High School


Every year on her birthday, Ashley Perkins gets a card from her grandmother—a card that always contains a promise: lose enough weight, and I will buy your happiness.

Ashley doesn’t think there’s anything wrong with the way she looks, but no amount of arguing can persuade her grandmother that “fat” isn’t a dirty word—that Ashley is happy with her life, and her body, as it is.
But Ashley wasn’t counting on having her dreams served up on a silver platter at her latest birthday party. She falters when Grandmother offers the one thing she’s always wanted: tuition to attend Harvard University—in exchange for undergoing weight loss surgery.

As Ashley grapples with the choice that little white card has given her, she feels pressured by her friends, her family, even administrators at school. But what’s a girl to do when the reflection in her mirror seems to bother everyone but her?

Through her indecisions and doubts, Ashley’s story is a liberating one—a tale of one girl, who knows that weight is just a number, and that no one is completely perfect.

 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo

Follow the Future Perfect by Jen Larsen Blog Tour and don't miss anything! Click on the banner to see the tour schedule.

Jen Larsen is the author of Future Perfect and Stranger Here: How Weight Loss Surgery Transformed My Body and Messed With My Head. She has an MFA in creative writing from the University of San Francisco and currently lives in Madison, WI. Find her at

Win a signed hardcopy of FUTURE PERFECT, a FUTURE PERFECT SHIRT and  FUTURE PERFECT button and magnet (US Only)

September 22, 2015

Top Ten Tuesday: Fall TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is A meme created by The Broke and Bookish
This weeks topic is: Top Ten books on your Fall TBR

This is so easy seeing as there is some awesome books coming out this fall/winter.

1) Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo                             2) This Monstrous Thing by Mackenzi Lee

                                     3) Nightfall by Jake Halpurn and Peter Kujawinski

4) Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff       5) After the Woods by Kim Savage

                                     6) Soundless by Richelle Mead

7) Dreamstrider by Lindsay Smith                             8) A Madness so Discreet by Mindy McGinnis

This was my current goal from Sept 1st- December 31st. 2/18 read

Currently On my TBR want to Read

9) Drift & Dagger by Kendall Kulper                    10) Survive the Night by Danielle Vega

Hmm seems like end of September and Early October has a common theme......Spooky reads*Boo*

Stay tuned for a post all about the Spooky Reads Week for Halloween. Be prepared for ghouls,goblins, and giveaways.

What`s on your Fall TBR? Any plans for October?


September 14, 2015

Reading Rendezvous: Book Blogger Creativity Project

Reading Rendezvous is a weekly feature created by the Fern Team for the Book Blogger Creativity Project that acts as a travel guide, highlighting places we would like to visit and recommending books that take place there.

This is the first post of a new feature created by our group for the Book Blogger Creativity Project that was started by Nori @ Read Write Love. In order to introduce everyone involved in our group, we are doing our first post as a group kind of. Each of us will be featuring an author from the state we are from!

I decided to choose: Chico,Ca as my location and my author is………..Laini Taylor!!!!!

About Author: (Straight from her bio on blog)

Laini Taylor writes books for youngish people, 
but they can also be read and enjoyed by oldish people, aka grown-ups.
You know grown-ups? They tend to be a little bigger and hairier than kids.
But not always.

·                     Born 1971 in Chico, California
·                     Navy brat, moved a lot growing up (Hawaii, Italy, Belgium, Virginia, California)\
·                     Currently lives in Portland,OR

Her Books:
You can buy the box set on Amazon

About Chico:
The Bear after the Polar plunge in 2014
Upper Bidwell Park
  • Chico is home to both California State University, Chico and Bidwell Park, 
  • The City of Chico was founded in 1860 by John Bidwell, a member of one of the first wagon trains to reach California in 1843. 
  • Playboy Magazine naming Chico State the number-one party school in the nation in 1987.
  • Chico is also home to Sierra Nevada                                                  Brewery.

Sierra Nevada Brewery the birthplace
of this amazing beer. 
Polar Plunge 2015

  • The Polar Plunge hosted every January 1st is held at One Mile inside Bidwell Park. 2015 was my 2nd year doing the plunge. Was a freezing and thrilling.

Here are the other members of Team Fern participating in this project:

Shayna @ Bibliophilials
Nori @ ReadWriteLove28

What do you think of our new feature? Does it sound like fun? Try it out!


Review: Tonight The Streets are Ours by Leila Sales

Tonight The Streets are Ours
Author: Leila Sales
Published On: September 15th, 2015
Page Count: 342
I received an ARC of this at BEA in May. This is my honest opinion of the book. Anything that is quoted is from an uncorrected version. Story subject to change.

Synopsis: (Found on Goodreads)
Seventeen-year-old Arden Huntley is recklessly loyal. Taking care of her loved ones is what gives Arden purpose in her life and makes her feel like she matters. But she's tired of being loyal to people who don't appreciate her—including her needy best friend and her absent mom. 
Arden finds comfort in a blog she stumbles upon called "Tonight the Streets Are Ours," the musings of a young New York City writer named Peter.

Overall Rating: 2/5
This had so much potential to be amazing but the stalkerness was too close to home for me so I wasn`t comfortable.If you don`t mind her obsessiveness about guys and her driving 100+ miles to see this guy then feel free to read it. The blog posts Peter writes are enjoyable. I really wanted to like this, I really did.

Cover: 4/5
This cover is freaking gorgeous. The colors just pull you in and scream fun. However I didn’t feel this way about the inside.

Characters: 1/5
Arden: Is obsessive in the worst way. She is very stalkerish but like the book states she is “recklessly loyal.”

Lindsay: Part One: Absolutely hate her. She has no boundaries and doesn`t care who gets in trouble for her. Part Two: She encouraged Arden to do those things plus who the hell runs off and does illegal things with strangers? Oh Wait apparently she does.

Peter: I liked him I really did. I loved his posts and how he aspired to be a writer. Part two I just wanted to kill him and just GAH!!!!

Chris: Part One: I wanted to punch him for being a selfish dick towards Arden and just taking advantage of her as a girlfriend. Part Two: smart man, yay for acting and having other friends.

Plot: NO I`m Done

page 43
"Interesting so far. Not sure how I'm going to like this one. The doll part was interesting, very American Girl like. The way her dad brushed off the first incident was sort of unrealistic."
page 183
"Starting to get good although I want to punch Chris really hard. Lindsay pisses me off from the get go and I feel like Arden is almost to "nice""
page 236
"From this point on im only reading this to get the reading rainbow and GR challenge done. This chick is a freaking stalker, her friend is reckless, boyfriend is a pompous jerkface (appropriate language) and the only sort of (maybe) sane person is Peter. She is obsessive and very creepy even if she "means well""

Last 15pgs were good. The concept was there about not always relying on others and that you need to take care of yourself. However the characters just didn't do it for me



September 08, 2015

Top Ten Tuesday: Series I Haven`t Finished

This weeks topic is Series I have yet to finish. Check out other`s responses by visiting Top Ten Tuesday

I originally thought I was going to have a lot o series to list but after narrowing it down I really only have 7. So here we go.

1) Dreams of Gods & Monsters by Laini Taylor
           I`m going to finish this monster of a book before the year is over. i just really dont want to leave all these wonderful characters behind for good.

2) Emerald Green by Kerstin Gier
          I adored Ruby Red and Sapphire Blue but can`t bring myself to see how this time traveling adventure ends.

3) Sweep by Cate Tiernan
        I have the whole series of volumes screaming my name. I need to read 6 books from that so it will take me some time to get to those.

4) Tamerie by Naomi Novik
        Now that there is a cover for the last book that comes out next year I will be able to sit down and read book 7-9 all at once.

5) Ensnared by A.G.Howard
        This is one of my favorite retellings and now that there is a companion novel I can finish this bad boy.

6) Rogue by Julie Kagawa
          I enjoyed Talon for the most part and need to get to this one. Maybe a buddy read will help me tear into it.

7) Trylle by Amanda Hocking
       This is the only series by Amanda that I love. I will be reading the last book in the trilogy soon just need to unwrap my box set and pull it out.

Well thats it for my Top Ten Tuesday post. Hope you enjoyed it. comment below what series you haven`t finished. Do you want to buddy read with me?



Tuesday Review Wednesday Thursday Teen Monday update Saturday Top Ten Tuesday Books Challenge Friday Sunday Top Ten 4 Star 5 Star Meme Discussion TBR BEA 2015 3 Star 5 Stars Beth Revis Book haul Challenges DNF Holiday INterview New Years Recap Teaser Tuesday reading ARC Adult Armchair BEA Audiobook Authors Bout of Books Christmas Covers Feature Giveaway Goals NYC Terah Edun Twitter Video 1 Star 2 Star 2015 Adventure August Book Divas Cover Reveal Guest Post Katie Sise Kerstin Gier Life March Matched Ally Condie Melissa Marr Merciless New Releases News Questions Read-a-thons Reviews Synopsis Tourist 101 6 Star A Tear Jerker ARCAugust About Me Absent Adaptations Adrianna James Alice in Wonderland Alsaid American gods Anna Banks Attachments Audiobooks BEA 2014 BFFS Back To School Bedtime Birthdays Blast Blind Stitches Bloggers Book release Boyfriend Brain jack teaser YA lending Break Breathe Bumped YA McCafferty review Business Cards COYER Calleriro Catch-up Characters Chat Child Cline College Books YA Goals reviews College Books lists Companions Condie Confessions Courtlight Danielle Vega Day One Delany Dewey Doppelganger Drizzt Dystopian Ebooks Eliza Tilton Enchanted Entwined Events Every Last Word Falkoff Fangirl Feed Flynn Meaney Forgotten Realms Gift card Gifts Going Vintage Grave Mercy Hafsah Laziaf Hawkins Heather Dixon Help Holidays Hybrid Fiction Incarceron book 2 Intoductions Jackson Pearce James Dashner James Frey Jessica Darling Kat Zhang Kids Kimberly Kontis Krystal Wade LEAP Laini Taylor Leah Rae Miller Leila Sales Lizzie Jones M.T. Anderson Marie Harbon May Maze Runner Memes Mermaids Mind Games Mini Monthly Movies New Adult Paperback Paradox Party Poseidon Q&A Quick Read Rabbit Rainbow Rowell Rapture Read ReadOn Ready Player One Rebel belle Release Request Retelling Reveals Robert Paul Weston Robin LaFevers SHINE Salvatore Sapphique Sarah Crossan Schedule September September read goals fantasy YA Series Shades of Earth Shawn Stern Shelf Silvia Day Starbucks Stephanie Dray Stone Sunday. 2014 Sweetly Syrena T.V. TTT Teaser Tuesday book blog numbers The Birthright Legacy Tips ToD Touching the Surface Trading Travel Trilogy Trip Unbreathable Unhinged Warga Wishlist. 2015 Wrap-up Writing Year End Zodiac contemporary haul list mature romance tag the summer i became a nerd tour